Select countries
Select subregions
Select regions
Select other regional groupings
The number of threatened species listed by IUCN as critically endangered, endangered or vulnerable. The IUCN classification uses quantitative criteria, based on population size, rate of decline and area of distribution, to assign species to the above categories. Listing in a higher extinction risk category implies a higher expectation of extinction; and, over the specified time frames, more species listed in a higher category are expected to become extinct than those in a lower one (without effective conservation action). Data are presented for each country by taxonomic group: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, molluscs, other invertebrates, and plants.

Indexed lines


Related Variables

Threatened species, Birds Ramsar sites, hectares Threatened species, Molluscs Red List Index

show data completeness

Supports GEGs:

Supports SDGs: